Third one’s the charm

IMG_7685 (2)

 

Quiet and watchful,

Curious, cautious, patient;

A brief encounter.

 

********************

 

As I was driving along the back roads yesterday, I was thrilled to see a couple of wild turkeys on the road shoulder and three deer at three other different spots.

As I spied the first two deer, and they me, it was they who decided to leave the scene abruptly.

However, the third deer – the one in the photo – was not as skittish and even let me back up the car, stop, and catch a better glimpse.  We looked at each other for what seemed a few moments.  And then the deer, satisfied, turned away and leaped further into the woods.

Such an encounter always has me feeling so lucky and happy.  

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Third one’s the charm

  1. Many years ago we were out picking blueberries and we ran into a baby faun. It still had its spots. I think the deer might have been a little tipsy because it looked at us and I could swear it smiled at us then moved on.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

