Pine Tree Pollen

 

IMG_3367

 

Rays of green needles,

With squirming pink pollen worms,

And new needle growth.

 

********************

 

When I arrived home in the early afternoon today, the sun was shining brightly – perhaps to make up for the last three days of clouds and rain?

I glanced around the yard to see what was different, and my gaze landed upon a large pine tree.  Its growth pattern has intrigued me ever since we first transplanted it as a two-foot tall sapling many years ago.

I noticed some colour dotted in and among its needle-filled branches and went up closer to see.  And it was generously laden with clutches of these pollen “worms.”  And with new light green needle growth visible as well.

It seemed a bit puzzling to me, as in previous years I HAD noticed the new needle growth spurting outwards but never with the pollen in all of its splendour.

Somehow I must have just missed that part?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Pine Tree Pollen

      1. We have so many microscopic bugs and worms in all areas of life (ex our food supply has an acceptable level of critters before being considered unsafe) I would’t be surprised at all. Nice photo btw of the pink pollen worms.

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

