Go ahead and Try Some!

IMG_3920

 

Isn’t it grand to have friends who share something new they’ve tried and encourage you to take a sample?

Yesterday I had gone to the home of my friend, Susan, in order to do some cleaning work there.  As is her customary “greeting” for me, I found one of her daily inspirational books opened to yesterday’s post, an envelope addressed to me, along with something delectable and new to try…..in this case, Sweet & Sour Tamarind

In the past I have enjoyed eating samosas and dipping them into a classic Indian tamarind sauce.  So, I was curious to see what tamarinds actually look like.

 

IMG_3933

 

The outer shells are of a light, brittle texture and fall apart easily.

Haha!  At first, I mistakenly thought that the outer shell is to be eaten as well.

 

IMG_3943

 

It wasn’t until I was working my way through the bites and pits – that she had forewarned me for – that I realized that the reddish dried and chewy part inside that tan-coloured outer shell is the tamarind and inside that are the blackish pits.

 

IMG_3957

 

I nibbled my way through two of those pods from her box.

I rather enjoyed this new and different taste sensation!

 

IMG_3964

2 thoughts on “Go ahead and Try Some!

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

