Cloud and Sky Watching

So fascinating how in one day, one can look up at the sky and see such diversity in cloud formations as well as the colour of the sky!

These three photos were taken at just a few hours apart, when I was out visiting a friend yesterday – the first two being also within a few kilometres of each other, and the last one  near another town (some 30 kms away).

*****

What caught my eye – when I was looking facing east around 1:15 p.m.-  was the two-tone blue colouring of the sky.  I don’t recall ever seeing one part of the sky being a pale blue and the other such a deeply, rich blue.  It looks as if the atmosphere closer to the earth is reflecting that lighter shade of blue.  And looking up into the higher atmospheric levels, the blue becomes darker in hue.  Usually, when looking at the sky, it tends to be one shade all across.  Unusual, don’t you think?

IMG_2777

*****

I snapped this next photo – around 3:30 p.m. (facing west) – because this cloud looked so MASSIVE and had such interesting features to it.  Tufts here, splays there, some in-curling to be seen at the bottom.  It was only when I looked at it again just now that my imagination kicked in and I spied a sea creature in it.  Mind you, it’s many, many times larger than in real life!  Haha!

 

 

IMG_2860

 

Do you see a crab?  Upright?  With its two claws on either side at the top and its many small feet at the bottom end?

A crab cloud!

 

 

*****

And finally a view at around 4:45 p.m. (looking west again)….

IMG_3030

The sky is fairly clear of clouds outside of the one solid wall of cloud on the right, and it’s nestled right down to the horizon level.  Here the sun is still able to peek along the top.  And it’s back to the one unified shade of blue for the sky.

Once again a spectacular sky show!

2 thoughts on “Cloud and Sky Watching

  1. Great post! The sky and its clouds are wonderful things. I think it’s remarkable how I can forget and ignore how majestic and varied something I see everyday can be. Though occasionally the mad British weather provides four seasons in one day!!! In which case I notice, only to fall into the trap of grumbling about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Haha! I can imagine how frustrating those four-seasons-in-one mad British days could be! More fun to admire and be amazed on those less confusing days, right? For many years I really didn’t pay that close attention to the sky and clouds, other than in passing….oh, that’s nice. But in the past few years, I often take more note of them. Sometimes I stop what I’m doing and just take it in. Spectacular artistic displays in the sky ….for free! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

