The Apparition

I had a spook visit me along Wolf Grove Road just after midnight, when I was driving back home.

It was white and had four long legs. Going at a slow trot in the same direction as I was headed – westerly – but happily, it was on the left side ie. the oncoming lane….and no other cars around.

I only noticed it when I was almost upon it. In my head….”Shit! There’s a deer on the road!” Hoping it wouldn’t get startled and then run in front of me.

Nope. It maintained its cool. A beautiful buck with a good sized antler crown. As soon as I realized what it was – only looked white in my headlights – I stopped and waited to see where it was. I opened my car window. Hard to see behind me. I finally noticed its form turn onto my side of the road and go a bit further.

All silent.

I carried on….and hoped that the buck would have disappeared by the time the car behind me reached that spot. Kept looking in my rear view mirror, and that car eventually reached the spot and kept right on going without incident, so the deer probably took off into the woods there.

Wow. What an interesting encounter.

 

 

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

