The Hang…part Two

A girlfriend just shared a youtube link, featuring a young man who’s performing fascinating, rhythmic, and melodically rich music with his hang drum.

And since I have a particular interest in hang drums, as I described in an earlier post – from September 14th, you can see it here – I decided to share this clip with you as well. This street player is self-taught and he incorporates a diversity of sound in his playing; even adding in separate percussive elements!  Wow!

As I was doing a bit of research, as a result of what the young man says to the street crowd before he starts playing, I learned that the instrument is correctly referred to as The Hang.

The Hang “is a musical instrument in the idiophone class created by Felix Rohner and Sabina Schärer in Bern, Switzerland (developed in 2000).” – Wikipedia

I invite you to check it out!  😀

 

3 thoughts on “The Hang…part Two

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

