Photo Study #1 – Icicles

img_7166

Ice water crystals,

Molded to the dormant forms

Of twigs, buds, and stems.

********************

Last year in January I went outside a couple of times with my camera to capture icicles – shimmering and reflecting in the winter sunshine…..also including one overcast day.  And yet, somehow I didn’t get to posting any of those on my blog.

I carried that little twinge of regret around for a while.

So, today another opportunity presented itself – albeit briefly – to run outside with camera again to get some shots of icicles.  As the temperature had warmed up some, the ice in places was melting quickly.  Even though I know there’ll be more snow coming our way here, as I walked along the walkway in the front yard, I didn’t want to pass on today’s crystalline gems.

img_7167

The top photo and this second one show ice crystals on the common lilac just outside the front door.

**********

The next ones are from various shrubs in the front yard garden….

img_7183

The above icicle is wedged snuggly in a V-shape of small branches.

 

*****

 

 

img_7187

img_7200

Above – fascinating to see the thicker opaque icicles alongside the thinner and more translucent ones.

*****

img_7220

This triple drop icicle – seen above – caught my eye.  I kept thinking….from which one will the next water droplet fall?  Except these were solid ice, so it just looked as if….

*****

This one – below – I kept for last, as it looks the most like a work of art; nature’s own ice sculpture.

img_7230

**********

Everything weather-wise can change so fast!

In the relatively short span of time….some 10-15 minutes?……of my going outside – with the sun shining at first….then the clouds blocking the sun….and then things getting darker….and then LOTS of snow……I was impressed at how fast the weather changed.

**********

11 thoughts on “Photo Study #1 – Icicles

    1. Thank you, Aishwarya. 🙂 True. I suppose that’s why it’s good for our well-being to appreciate the beauty that’s always all around us, because it can and will change again….mind you, always with other things to show us their beauty and to be appreciated. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

