Glowing Outdoor Skating Rink

img_7912

 

Brightly lit circle,

Shadowy dark shapes abound,

Skating…walking…still.

 

********************

 

There is a cool-looking outdoor skating rink that finds a temporary home throughout the winter months, nicely constructed in the front area of Ottawa’s City Hall.

I have walked passed it at night a few times recently, as I was heading for the NAC – National Arts Centre  (which is located nearby) – to either see a play or a live music show.  The City Hall’s underground parking facility comes in handy for accessing various destinations in the area, and so in going to and fro, we passers-by get to see the enthusiastic skaters who make good use of this skating rink.

I think it is at its prettiest at night, when the edge of the rink is aglow in colours that continuously change from yellow to red to green to blue – always looping – thereby creating a magical and fun mood.

One of these evenings, I need to grab my skates and experience it for myself!

 

*****

 

I uploaded my own video to youtube, so you can see for yourself…..

 

3 thoughts on “Glowing Outdoor Skating Rink

Leave a Reply

