The Popularity of Orchids

img_7023

 

Clustered together,

Protected with clear plastic,

White orchids as gifts.

 

********************

 

Last week when I was at the grocery store, I paid closer attention to the floral display area.

Looking so welcoming, all those potted plants and flowers greeted incoming customers.  A diverse selection of colours and plant types for people to choose to keep…or give as gifts in this Christmas season.

The flowers that primarily caught my attention were these good-sized white orchids.  Each plant looking in excellent health, holding proudly several orchid blooms.  I smiled.  It had me thinking how over time orchids have become more popular.

Many years back when I had a house filled with potted plants of varying kinds, I would hear about orchids and think how particular their requirements are….and that they were barely seen in floral or nursery stores, which further underscored my perception of their elusiveness to have success at growing them at home.

Then in later years, I would see my father avidly taking care of three or four orchid varieties in my parents’ home – all looking healthy and producing beautiful blooms!  It occurred to me, when I asked my father about their care, that perhaps they weren’t QUITE as particular in their environmental requirements as I used to think.

So, when I now see these orchids popping up in all manner of stores, I conclude that somehow they have become more mainstream in their appeal and in their care.

And that’s a good thing.

 

Leave a Reply

