About Being….And Love

Somehow it didn’t work out QUITE exactly consecutive….but close enough.  You know how it is.  Other things in life insist on wanting attention outside of writing.

This is the third day in my 3-day Quote Challenge from my blogging friend, A .

I had one more quote, but then I came across another one, and both are on topics very dear to my heart, so as it stated in the rules for this challenge, I CAN post from 1-3 posts for THAT particular day.

So, that’s what I decided to do.

Here’s the first one:

As you walk and eat and travel, be where you are. Otherwise you will miss most of your life.” 
– Buddha

On the importance of being mindfully present in your present moment in time, because there is always something to experience and appreciate that’s unique and won’t repeat itself again.

I include two photos about “being.”

img_8910

I noticed this blue cornflower in passing, when I was on one of my walks along my favourite country road near my home.  It’s actually quite a small flower – smaller than the usual daisy – but its lovely shade of blue is  what caught my eye.  So, I stopped walking and spent some time looking closely at this tiny wildflower.

 

img_2182-3

 

For the past two years we have been so lucky to have a deer family – a mother with her twin fawns – come to our backyard woods and spend some time there.  Both last year and this year, I happened to glance out of our bathroom window early on a summer morning and be fortunate to see the whole family foraging and frolicking in our backyard.  For me they are such a delight to watch, and both times I stopped whatever I was planning to do…..and just watched them and enjoyed seeing them being themselves.

*****

For my second quote, I picked:

Give the ones you love wings to fly, roots to come back, and reasons to stay.”  – Dalai Lama

(it was quoted on the Facebook page of Beautiful Minds)

pancake-photo-for-wp

So, why the pancake?

Haha! Well, because, this happened in March of this year, when I was making pancakes for the kids, and when I flipped one of them over, the pattern in it looked like a butterfly.  And I showed it to them.  And butterflies are free to fly.

And another reason is that I have tried to fulfill that quote from the Dalai, especially with my kids, even before I saw that quote.  My wish was always to create a loving relationship with them in which all those aspects were contained.

That completes the challenge.

And I nominate Vonita .

 

 

14 thoughts on “About Being….And Love

      1. Here they are, Vonita! 🙂 Another nice thing is that for this challenge the rules are quite short and not so many; only three..

        Post for 3 consecutive days.

        Select and post 1-3 posts for each of those days.

        Nominate a blogger to go for the 3-Day Quote Challenge on each of those three days.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s fine. At first I wasn’t going to nominate others, but then I changed my mind – as two of my sons also have blogs, I thought this way I can include them. And then I could pick just ONE more blogging friend to be nominated. I’m glad it was a fun surprise for you. I look forward to seeing your quotes, Vonita.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

