Always Learning!

Hello Friends!

I have been nominated by my blogging friend, A , to the 3-day Quote Challenge.

Thank you again, my friend, for such an honour.

For today’s quote I picked one that seems to have become imprinted in my brain and heart from the first time I saw it several years ago.

A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.”    – Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

It appeals to me, because I have observed this experience in my life over and over.  Whether it’s in learning a new skill….or reading something with new ideas….or hearing a new song that touches in a deeper way….or trying out a new food.  Endless possibilities in life, really, for our minds to experience something new and to then move forward in personal growth or personal preferences.

For a simple example, in my case, I developed a liking for olives much later in life.  Before that time, I would steer clear of them.  And mostly because I didn’t know that much about them and partly because the flavour seemed so foreign.  Then!  One day I was given a new food to eat which included olives – black, milder ones – but still, it turned my mind over to the idea that, hey, olives are pretty fine.  Try them again.  And try them in this.  And then, well, perhaps the green ones aren’t so bad anymore.  And try those.  And before too long, I can’t imagine having certain foods and dishes WITHOUT olives.  It’s inconceivable!  Haha!  I love them so much now!

**********

As I understand it, the 3-day Quote Challenge is comprised of:

  1. Post for 3 consecutive days.
  2. Select and post 1-3 posts for each of those days.
  3. Nominate a blogger to go for the 3-Day Quote Challenge on each of those three days.

And so, I nominate my writer/blogging friend, Stephen , for this challenge.

*****

AND….in the spirit of the above quote, I’m including a photo of a Tea Party to which I was invited last year.  On the subject of new experiences, it was the first ever tea party for me.  And fun!   I met someone new – the friend of the host.  And there were some incredible delectables!  Taste combinations that were new to me as well.  My mind was given such a treat that day!  Moving forward again!

 

img_1366

 

 

3 thoughts on “Always Learning!

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

