Grey with that Colour Splash!

img_9343

 

I love my grey hair,

But with some pink and purple,

There is added fun!

 

********************

A little over four years ago – with some inspiration from a friend and her referral to her hairdresser – I embarked on a new trend for myself.  My hair by then had been turning grey, and I had kept it like that for a while.  I didn’t really want to cover it up.

However, at one point I needed a change for myself, along with other changes I was making, and so I took that step for the first added strands of colour.  My new hairdresser understood what I was hoping for, and so we took it slowly, in case I might change my mind.  She only added a few strands of purple; she interwove it so nicely in among the grey hairs.

Well, I loved the effect!  And I got compliments continuously from people I knew and also from strangers.  Haha!

The hair has evolved over time – the cut used to be a bob and lately we’ve been going with the pixie cut style.  After the initial trials with bits of purple, we went with MORE purple….and then added in fuchsia and even some blue. Blue doesn’t last as long, although it is also quite pretty.  The grey hair takes the colour really well.

I only need to go every three months for refreshing the colour and cutting the hair, which isn’t as often as if I were to totally dye my hair to cover the grey.  And there are no harsh chemicals in this process.  Plus, this way I still get to enjoy the grey – and some white that peeks through!

Two weeks ago was my most recent visit to my hairdresser, and we went for the most colour ever!  I took some photos, and you can see all the wonderful fuchsia and purple, along with the grey everywhere else.

I STILL get such warm-hearted and sincere compliments!  It’s wonderful.  From women AND men!  Strangers will yell across a parking lot to tell me how much they love my hair.  Others will say so as they pass me by.  My co-workers cheer me on.  And my other friends and family also add their kind words every so often.

And really, I just enjoy having fun with it!  It adds some zest!   And it feels great!

Oh yeah, and I have inspired a few other ladies to try something similar – why not?

Kinda cool to be called the Purple-haired Lady!

img_9319-2

img_9335

img_9346

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

