Looking for Puffins

img_1133-3

 

Cute little faces,

Well-adapted to their homes;

The much-loved puffins!

 

********************

 

The Puffin – Iceland’s National Bird

These photos were taken on my very brief introductory visit to Iceland in May of this year.  I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and am keen to go visit there again!

As part of a guided day-trip from Iceland via ferry to the island of Heimaey in the Vestmannaeyjar Archipelago, included was a bus tour around the island with a side stop to where the puffins and several other seabirds have some of their nesting grounds.

img_1136-2

 

I brought two cameras with me, one of which had a small built-in zoom.  For the landscape views I used my regular DSLR.  Then depending on how the visibility would be for finding puffins and capturing some photos of them, I ended up relying on the other smaller camera for that.  As you will see, they were quite a distance away, so the zoom came in handy!

img_0015

Smack dab in the middle of this photo, you can see a small white dot.  Yes, that’s the puffin.  And I’m standing right up against a fence, which you will see further down.

img_0015-2

Here you can see it more distinctly, sitting on what looks like a precarious spot along the edge.

Needless to say, even after this shot, I realized that I would have to try the smaller camera to zoom in better and get more close-up photos, like the first two in this post.

Except that didn’t automatically ensure perfect photos, because, as our tour guide explained to us, we were on the “windiest part of all of Iceland.”

I took as many photos as I could – many of which were blurred – because the wind kept bustling my camera around, so my hands were more shaky than steady. There were even more advanced birders and photographers on this trek, who brought their HUGE cameras with LONG lenses…..tripods, too, I guess. But even so, I’m sure the wind was giving them a challenge as well

img_0006

This was the path to follow, towards the cliffs…..to where we might find the birds.

img_0008

An amazing view!

img_0012

On the right side is the fence we could use as our guide to hike further down the path, and I suppose, to preserve the distance between us and the puffins.

img_0014

I went just a little further down from where I’m standing as I took this photo, and I think all those people below just went to that edge and then turned back.

img_0016

Taken from a little further down and quite near the edge……with the fence nearby to keep us safe.

 

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

