Focus on Architecture

The way my summer has been unfolding, I haven’t had much time to work on writing and blogging; also less on photography.  And I’ve been missing my set aside time for doing those things, as I do enjoy that kind of work.

So, when this week’s photography assignment was announced, I finally had some time and quickly pounced on the opportunity to put together another set of four.  The theme is architecture, so these are the ones I picked for it:

img_0087

Architecture #1

Two curvy buildings,

Artistic geometry;

This is a hotel?

 

Archived from my mini Europe trip this past May, 2016 – we stayed in this ultra cool-looking place in Copenhagen….the AC Bella Sky Hotel. I picked this photo for its unusual building structure design – I love things with bends and curves, haha! – as well as the triangularly designed hotel bedroom windows. Together it all creates such a geometric and artistic effect. There are also two enclosed walkways connecting both buildings of this hotel; one at the top and one closer to the ground. This place was fascinating to look at inside and out!

 

********************

img_3113

Architecture #2

Skyscraper windows

Reflecting like a mirror;

Looks like a painting!

 

Taken exactly one week ago; last Wednesday – when I was visiting my parents in Toronto and playing tourist in the downtown area. I have always loved the architecture there…..so much variety in design and effects with glass windows and other outward shapes. This skyscraper, filled with offices, I’m guessing, is flanked by two high towers – condo apartments, I’m thinking. What drew my eyes to the building in the middle is how the glass windows look so seamless….there is no break to show where they start and end. It’s so much like one huge mirror! It even looks like a painting. And lo, see how the clouds and sky are wonderfully reflected in those windows!

 

********************

img_3293

Architecture #3

Colourful at night!

Toronto’s CN Tower;

Purple, pink, and white.

 

Also taken last Wednesday in Toronto; in the evening, as my mom and I were at the GO train station, to head back to Scarborough area. This was my first time to see what the CN Tower looks like lit up at night – I was enthralled! I am quite familiar with its daytime look, so this night-time view was super special. In contrast to the tower’s darker lighting hues, you see the bright lights from both platforms at Union Station in the foreground.

 

********************

img_0026

Architecture #4

Big islands of rock,

Of Mother Nature’s design;

Born of volcanoes.

 

For my fourth submission, I am bowing to the original architect….Mother Earth. With her beautiful and majestic mountains and canyons, species of tall trees, ice caves, her creatures who construct amazing homes and catch-ems (ie. intricate spider webs), her endless architectural wonders.

This photo was taken in Iceland during that same mini trip to Europe in May 2016 – it’s a view across the sea from the island of Heimaey located in the Vestmannaeyjar Archipelago. As with Iceland, all of her surrounding islands have been created through volcanic eruptions. Outside of one island in this grouping of islands off of Heimaey, all the others are left untouched and pristine…..no human trespassing…..the flora and fauna occurring as nature intends.
They are impressive islands to look at from afar and of a massive size, when up close. No two are alike.
The architecture of our Mother Earth never ceases to amaze me.

 

2 thoughts on “Focus on Architecture

Leave a Reply

