This Music Always Touches My Soul

After listening to a selection of songs from The Who, Burton Cummings, The Eurhythmics this evening via Spotify, I am finishing it off with instrumental guitar – more specifically, flamenco instrumental guitar as superbly performed by Jesse Cook and his band of amazing percussionists and other guitarist.

This music I can listen to always.

It has Latin groove and a taste of Spanish flamenco – ever since I was a young girl, I’ve been enthralled with flamenco….the passion, the energy, the sound!!

I searched for a youtube clip showing Jesse and his band playing live (2012), so you can see for yourself.
I know it isn’t everyone’s thing, but in case you’re curious….

I have been fortunate to see Jesse and his band playing live, once at Bluesfest and once at the NAC  (National Arts Centre) – both of which are located in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.- and both times their musicianship had the audience spellbound and delighted and always asking for more. Oh yeah, at Bluesfest, there was MUCH dancing among the captive audience!!

 

Jesse and his band tour internationally as well as in Canada.

 

Click on this link:
***************************
Haha!  I just found another youtube link; I couldn’t resist!  It’s one of the few songs where there’s a singer as well.  Okay….well, two.  Wonderful harmonies!
Click on this link to watch Jesse and some of his band performing “Fall At Your Feet” right in the midst of the audience!
***************************
5 thoughts on “This Music Always Touches My Soul

  1. Hello my friend. Nicely done. I am curious about needing to link. Perhaps your site does not allow it to be a stand alone video? With mine it will link unless I give it two lines of space. Then again, you may not have wanted to do that. I am glad to see your posting:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Paul! Thanks for bringing that up. I was puzzled why it did that, because when I have linked youtube links in previous posts, it would show the links as they appear on youtube, but I noticed that it wouldn’t do that here. Should I add more space, you think?

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I just asked my son about this puzzlement, and after suggesting I try it again and update my post, I told him that I had and that I got the same result. He then suggested that perhaps some youtube channels don’t allow embedding, and I think that’s what it is, because I noticed it didn’t say that for these ones. So, his suggestion – and I agree – to make it look more appealing is to use hyperlink, so that’s what I will do. 🙂 Thank you for caring and inquiring, Paul.

      Like

  2. A friend on Facebook, who read my post and who has seen Jesse Cook perform live, too, also pointed out that this style of music is being referred to more as nuevo-flamenco, compared to the old-style flamenco. I wrote to him saying that it seems to have a mix of Latin rhythms in it, such as rumba and others. Perhaps that’s what sets it apart? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

