The Fig Story, Part 2

Yes, true.  The title is a bit misleading.  Considering I didn’t ACTUALLY post The Fig Story (as a part 1).  But you may remember this one from a few weeks ago…..”Tried Something New Again!”  (July 2, to be exact)

 

IMG_5982

In the other post I had photos of fresh figs that I had bought at a grocery store, along with how I came to choose them.  And they were a different variety…..more maroon in colour and shaped as a larger kind of water drop.

Yesterday I happened to stop by that same grocery store, following my music lessons, and I just wanted to pick up a few things.  As I passed by the fresh fruit section, I decided to peek and see if they had the figs in again.  As they aren’t in such high demand, the store only stocks about 4-6 boxes at a time, and there are times in between when I have gone to look and none were there.

My lucky day!  They had a few boxes!  And as I pulled them out from the shelf – they are in such a snug shelving place that you really can’t see much until you pull the whole box out – that’s when I saw these ones!  Definitely figs. Yay!  But quite different from the ones I had been buying before.  They certainly looked more like the figs in photos I had seen in foodie books over the years in terms of colour and shape, as well as in how the dried figs had looked that I had eaten on occasion.  They looked fresh and plump, and so I picked up TWO boxes.  Because I now know that I will gobble up several at a time!

And so I munched gleefully on a few on my drive back home, savouring their texture….AND their lovely sweet flavour!

IMG_5985

Ohhhmmmm! What a lovely, tasty treat on a summer’s day!!

And I love looking inside at the seed patterns they have…..once again the imagination gets going….see those white-caped invaders, trying to raid that peaceful village.  They seem to want to break down the wall only in that centre area.  Silly invaders!  🙂

IMG_5990

Figs are a most delicious fruit, and I am SO glad that I got to discover them even now….in my middle years……so I have many more years to enjoy them.  And it’s never too late to discover yet another new delicious food!  Right?

 

 

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

