Mystery Insect

IMG_2609 (2)

 

You hear the buzzing,

Fast wing beats; it seeks nectar.

And look — it’s orange!

 

********************

 

There are two of us working in the garden….weeding and hoeing and trimming.  At one point we stopped to take a breather and admire the flowers that were blooming.

We could see the busy butterflies, delicately perching on purple or blue flowers here and there in the search for delicious nectar.

We could hear the hum of sound created by several bumble bees, moving along purposefully from flower to flower for their share of nectar and, of course, pollen.

Then Ryan, my gardening partner, spied something unusual.  At first he thought it was a really tiny hummingbird, as it seemed to fly and hover similar in that style.  It was hard to get a really good glimpse of it, so I pulled out my phone to snap some shots to help us with identification.  As we observed its movements, it eventually became clear that it WASN’T a hummingbird but another type of insect.  And the photos seem to support that idea.

As both Ryan and I have never seen such an insect before, I decided to post some photos of it on my blog and see if any of my readers might be familiar with it and could enlighten me as to its identity.

IMG_2612 (2)

IMG_2618 (2)

Any ideas???

 

 

One thought on “Mystery Insect

  1. UPDATE:
    Having encountered another moth just recently, a different one – on Sunday July 10th, 2016 – that had me guessing and I went to look through an identification guide, I also came across a photo of this mystery insect. The one in this post is called a Hummingbird Hawk-moth! Makes sense, since its wings beat much like a hummingbird in terms of speed and with a similar sound. COOL! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

