My new reference book…on fermentation

IMG_9203

 

Waited patiently,

Until the kimchi was done.

Crunchy with some zip!

 

***********************

After its initial fermenting time of 7 days, I then put my jar of kimchi into the fridge; it slows down further fermentation – although it never stops the process – and also keeps the kimchi cool.

(please refer to my post dated April 28, 2016 Exploration in Fermentation for my experience in the making of it).

Not that I’d need to put it into the fridge, as fermentation is a way of preserving fresh food.  However, I DO enjoy having sauerkraut and kimchi nice and cold for munching!

So, today I decided to have a sampling of my own kimchi.  And boy, am I hooked!  Haha!

It’s so tasty!  See the little green specks in it?  That’s the finely chopped up jalapeño pepper that my group had added in our batch.  The pepper with the fresh garlic and ginger creates a lovely zip to the overall flavour.  And just as cool is the crunchy texture that is retained from the Chinese cabbage, the onions, the grated carrots, etc.

I have a feeling that I’ll be making kimchi on a regular basis!  I could easily make a little meal of it with some freshly steamed rice, and who knows what else I’ll come up with for ideas.

Now that I have raved at you on the delightful flavour of the kimchi, I will get to the other purpose of this post – to share with you my new reference book on the subject of fermenting foods.  Also, because one of my followers…lorac888890…specifically asked for some clarification.

 

IMG_9198

 

Excerpt:

“Fermented foods and drinks are quite literally alive with flavor and nutrition…..

One major benefit of fermentation is that it preserves food.  Fermentation organisms produce alcohol, lactic acid, and acetic acid, all “bio-preservatives” that retain nutrients and prevent spoilage.  Vegetables, fruits, milk, fish, and meat are highly perishable, and our ancestors used whatever techniques they could discover to store foods from seasons of plenty for later consumption.  Captain James Cook, the 18th century English explorer who extended the far reaches of the British Empire, was recognized by the Royal Society for having conquered scurvy (vitamin C deficiency) among his crews by sailing with large quantities of sauerkraut….scurvy had previously killed huge numbers of the crews of long sea voyages.

…an interesting parallel that the Polynesian people who crossed the Pacific Ocean and populated Hawaii more than a thousand years before Captain Cook also sustained themselves through the long voyage with fermented food, in this case POI, a thick starchy taro root porridge still popular in Hawaii and throughout the South Pacific.

Fermentation not only preserves nutrients, it breaks them down into more easily digestible forms….for example, soy beans into miso, tempeh, and tamari.  Milk into yogurt and kefir.

Eating fermented foods live is an incredibly healthy practice, directly supplying your digestive tract with living cultures essential to breaking down food and assimilating nutrients.

Read labels and be aware.  Many commercially available fermented foods are pasteurized, which means heated to the point at which microorganisms die.

If you want live-culture fermented foods in our food-security-obsessed, instant-gratification age, you have to seek them out or make them yourself.

By promoting digestive health, live fermented foods can help control digestive disease processes….”

 

************************

 

I tried to give you highlights as an introduction to this book.

I hope you will find this information helpful, perhaps even intriguing enough to start your own exploration of fermented foods.

I wish you all the best of health!

Note:  Just now I invited my husband and one of my sons to have a taste test of the kimchi.  My husband found it too strong, although he did say that I’d do the Koreans proud.  That puzzled me, because he does enjoy eating spicier foods from time to time, like East Indian food. Perhaps he finds Korean food even spicier?

I, on the other hand, don’t find it all that strong.  It definitely has a good burst of flavour, and it has some good spicy zip to it.

My son’s assessment was closer to what I expected – he doesn’t find it particularly all that strong but that it does have a nice bite to it.  He said he liked it.

Now, I just need to have the rest of my kids try it out.

Either way, I know that I’m going to be having kimchi more often!

2 thoughts on “My new reference book…on fermentation

Leave a Reply

