What are they……car icicles?

 

Muddy.  Dirty lines,

Hanging down from the car sides –

And they grew so fast!

 

*******************

On my birthday I did end up going to work.  But as I told my family and friends,  when you enjoy your work and have fun with your co-workers, it’s something to look forward to and, well, there’s the chance that there may be some collective “birthday song” singing and lots of hugs!

And there was!  Along with a few other surprises….such as the bouquet of colourful daisies!  (featured in a previous blog post)

Another added surprise, however, occurred outside….all the while I was inside the building.  It wasn’t until my work was done and I was heading for my car that I saw something I hadn’t seen before.  Icicles sprouting downwards from the sides of my car!

Or well, let me clarify.  I have seen icicles growing along the car sides before, but usually overnight, when snow and ice were melting during the day and then the icy, cold night temperatures caused the drips to turn solid and frozen.

The icicles you see in the above photos took form in only a matter of five hours AND during the morning and afternoon – unusual, as that tends to be the warmer part of the day.  It’s always fun to see the shaping and forms that icicles take – as the cold to freezing water drops attach to each other and accumulate.  This time though, instead of looking clear and clean, as icicles tend to look when they grow downwards from the roof of our house, these ones looked quite dirty and muddy.  Naturally, the accumulated salty dirt on the car doors from the previous days of driving on salted and slushy roadways contributed to that unclean aspect.

What I found particularly fascinating was how there was a somewhat larger icicle on my friend’s car door – the only one of the whole bunch – which managed to grow long enough to touch the ground…..and even make a slight indentation into the earth!

Check it out in this photo:

IMG_8147

4 thoughts on “What are they……car icicles?

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

