When Eyes Meet

IMG_6802 (3)

Up ahead first one deer crossed the road and jumped into the woods.

The roads were slick, so I had been driving quite slowly; I slowed down some more.

Another soon followed, except it didn’t continue as the other one but trotted up along the right shoulder.

Then it darted on down that junction road.

I thought that was it.

I looked left to see if there was movement; if there were any others.

And there it stood.  On the left side.

The third one.  Totally still.  Totally calm.

Taking in the scene……watching.

I stopped my car…..just idling.

Rolled down my window and gazed on that silent sentinel.

I watched its ears turn away….to the side and to back and then back to front.

Keeping tabs on me.  I was totally quiet and still.

Just taking quick pictures.

Who knows how long this will last?

Its eyes glanced left briefly, and then it put its full gaze on me.

What are we thinking as our eyes lock?

I am admiring this beautiful animal.  I feel excited…..beyond thrilled!

What about you, deer?

 

19 thoughts on “When Eyes Meet

      1. I do have some photos which I will put on a some point. Hoping when the weather is warmer we might manage to take our dog for the last time this summer. We just have to be careful he doesn’t over do things.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I look forward to seeing those photos! 🙂 So….you must be in the southern hemisphere, if you are coming to the end of your summer. I am in the north and it is getting warmer here these days with the promise of spring.

        Like

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

