The Turkey “Experiment”

003

First there is thawing.

Then comes the fun soak – the brine!

Stuffing and Roasting….

*************************

I’m feeling a sense of anticipation!
Since we are having Christmas at our place this year (after MANY years of travelling elsewhere), I have also been put in charge of the turkey roasting.
It’s been a LONG time since I last did a turkey. My first plan was to do something similar to the roast chicken I sometimes make – with garlic and citrus and herbs on the inside and outside and hope for the best…..hahaha! I always find roast turkey to be on the dryer side….and so not really much of a favourite for me.
But THEN…..a chance comment made by my friend, Moira, yesterday…… “brining”…..as in she was going to go home after work, take her turkey out of the freezer, get it thawing and then let it sit in a herby brine for another day before the final roasting.
That word perked up my ears….and immediately it crossed my mind that this method – entirely new to me! – sounded like it would be a cool way to add extra flavour…..and moisture?…..to a roast turkey.
Moira, indeed, confirmed to me that I was on the right track. so, as soon as I got home, I googled – I’m just so google-savvy these days, eh? (hey, if your kids prod you often enough, you take the plunge…..what can I say….) – and found a goodly number of potential sites that offered up some tasty brine recipes as well as directions on how to accomplish this task.
And well, Martha Stewart’s version sounded the most tempting to me…….no, the bottle of dry riesling was NOT the determining factor! Hahaha!
Nah…she puts in juniper berries and coriander seeds and bay leaves and more good things. Yes, well, I figured that bottle of wine would only just ENHANCE the whole thing even more.

In case you’re wondering, the turkey is chillaxing in a brine-filled bag inside a clean bucket (bought expressly for that purpose) in a cooler filled with water and ice.
So…..happy to say that our humanely raised turkey is enjoying its brine bath since this evening and into tomorrow morning.  🙂

That’s when the stuffing gets made and the next steps are followed…..

Oh what will the final results reveal about this turkey experiment?

One thought on “The Turkey “Experiment”

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

