Ice Sheet on White Lake

005

Gazing to the west,

An ice film stretches slowly

Outward from the shore.

 

*************************

I snapped this photo today in the late afternoon during my visit with Leah, a senior lady for whom I do bi-weekly cleaning…..combined with some conversation and laughs.  This is her prized view of her favourite place to be, where she has lived for many years…..on White Lake.

One simply cannot show up at her home and be strictly business, when she is there.  Hahaha!  I am the fresh new face in her life.  The new friend.  Someone who hasn’t heard her stories and jokes before, and I gladly sit with her (before the cleaning chores), as we share a cup of tea and share of our life experiences.

Leah is recently widowed (since August of this year), and she misses her husband whom she loved dearly.  She never faltered, even when his health was getting more and more fragile over the years.  They both had reached their 80 years and would have celebrated a 60th Anniversary in August of this year, if her husband, Bill, had not died just days before.

In our chats we share the commonalities of motherhood and having raised our children as stay-at-home moms, and we regale each other with fun anecdotes of memories from days gone by.  We also share a sense of fun and spunkiness.  As I listen to her adventures, I discover more of the many facets of Leah and what makes her distinctly who she is.  She can be feisty when she needs to be; however, she prefers the harmony as reflected in the natural world around her home.  Laughter comes easily to her, along with reflective moods, love, and compassion.

You just never know when and where you will meet a new friend in your life.

Thank you, Leah, for showing up in mine.  🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Ice Sheet on White Lake

  1. Gorgeous lake, compassionate words, amazing Leah! Your photo essay now will have me wondering, when I’m leaning back into my comfy seat on the Adirondack, about all the unknown personal stories behind/surrounding the lakes that the train traverses along on its way to Montreal from the Lower, and then the Upper, Hudson Valley. It’ll be very interesting to ponder the interconnectedness of humanity and nature when I get to ride the Maple Leaf to Toronto and then VIA Rail Canada from Toronto to Montreal.

    Your photo of the White Lake from your friend’s perspective is stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you again, Chantale, for your generous compliments! 🙂 I’m glad that my photo essay gives you something new and stimulating to ponder….and I especially like where your ponderings will be taking you. I hope you enjoyed your train ride. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. 🙂 Yes, I think so, too. Leah has found in me a new face to share her dearly held stories and memories that probably helps her as she deals with her solitude. And I learn from her more wisdom and grace in aging….and how truly compassion and love are our strengths to one another. And yes, she lives in a house located on a picturesque lake. It is her heaven, her peace, her solace.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

