The Fox – Smart and Beautiful

117

Nimble and graceful,

A hunter of diverse skills;

Tends to stay hidden.

*****************************************

Almost a month ago, on my afternoon walk, I came across the dead body of a fox off to one side of the country road.  It looked to have been hit by a passing vehicle.

As I gazed upon its still body and wondered what its life had been like….growing up and romping around through its home terrain, and hunting for its prey…..I thought back to a week-long trip I had taken with my youngest son in 2011, almost the same time again in end of August, to Prince Edward Island – a lovely island province in Canada about a full day’s drive east from where I live.

My son and I had rented a small cottage for a week and had taken daily trips to various places on the island for exploring….some beaches and other sights.  One day as we headed for the Rustico Beach area, as I was driving along the road, I noticed up ahead a couple of other vehicles that had stopped and I wondered what had grabbed the drivers’ attention.  We soon found out….

101

A calico-looking fox!  Leisurely crossing the road….and then….

102

….we could see two more.  I had stopped the car to watch, just as the others had.  With no car engine noise and our windows down, we just enjoyed watching the foxes.  Certainly not like the always hiding foxes that live around our area….no, these foxes seemed quite familiar with cars going through their territory and feeling comfortable enough to check the people out as well.

105

This one came up fairly close, and we checked each other out….calmly and quietly.

106

Then he moved a bit further and decided to hang out some more…..

108 113

Do those dog-like things like relaxing on the ground…..scratching some itchy spots….

110

And having another look in our direction.

That was SO COOL!  I had never seen foxes in the wild so close-up before!  It felt incredibly thrilling to have had such an encounter.

Such a smart and beautiful animal with its handsome face and orange, black, and white fur markings.

*

7 thoughts on “The Fox – Smart and Beautiful

  1. Beautiful photo;s of the fox.. And yes sadly there are many road kills here in the UK of foxes and badgers..
    But we do have one who visits our neighbourhood.. We do not see him so much in the summer, but when the snow is on the ground we see his tracks in the snow down our drive.. 🙂

    I have so enjoyed my catch ups today.. and hope I do not leave it as long again.. Sending Love and Hugs your way.. Take care.. Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha! I’m glad you DID do catch ups AND enjoyed them, Sue. As I was looking down the list, I smiled because it showed me how busy you’d been. 🙂 And I HAD been missing you and your uplifting comments. Thank you for your love and hugs, Sue. I am sending you some right back! 🙂 And thank you for telling me about your fox neighbour; I enjoyed hearing about him.

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

