And one more, please, Mom!

018

My family’s favourite: Buttermilk Oatmeal Pancakes!

We had them for supper tonight – Woohoo! With lovely maple syrup, these are welcome anytime. Everyone was digging in – hahaha! I love it when they do.

Made from scratch and a modified version of a recipe I found some 20 years ago, so I guess you could say it’s become a legit family recipe….??

I fry up pancakes in butter. Margarine was tried years ago, but it lost hands-down to butter. Hahaha!

As some of you may have experienced, once a recipe gets used so often that you can pull it out of your head at will, then also the original measurements don’t all stay the same; some things get eyeballed for how the mix looks, for example, the dry ingredients being well blended with flours and oat flakes.  And then once dry and wet ingredients have been mixed together, I like the batter to have a somewhat heavier consistency, so it doesn’t make runny pancakes but the kind that hold their shape in the hot pan….and yet flowing enough to create a thicker crèpe feel.  And then on some occasions those “secret” ingredients get added in just to change things up!  Like adding in chopped up fresh seasonal fruit.

4 thoughts on “And one more, please, Mom!

  1. Mouth wateringly Good.. Love pancakes and Maple syrup.. I love butter too but I have swapped alot of my cooking, ( not all as some Butter is the only thing that works ) to Coconut butter/oil .. It surprisingly good.. I also add in smoothies too.

    Just also thought I would let you know Michaela, that your link via your comments on my site link to perhaps an older WP address site, for it shows up as thinkdreambecome.wordpress.com, which takes you to the ( Sorry this blog has been deleted..)

    So I was glad I got your new post in my email box.. As for a moment I thought you had deleted your blog!.. 🙂 Hope you get the Gavatar link sorted.. 🙂

    Love and Hugs xxx Sue

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I have started using coconut oil as well, but in some recipes I know that my lads, nor myself, want to taste too pronounced a coconut flavour. In other things it’s negligible. So, I tend to use butter and olive oil more. I haven’t added coconut oil to smoothies yet – will try! 🙂 Thanks for the link suggestion. I DID try to get rid of the older one, but I’m still a bit confused on things on wordpress, so I wasn’t successful in getting rid of it. Love and hugs to you! xoxo Michaela

      Like

    1. Hi Bridgette! Thanks for visiting! And I’m glad you found the pancakes enticing. 🙂 It’s become a family recipe by which I mean that I have approximations in the measurements of the ingredients….it’s been done so often, that I eyeball how the batter looks.

      Like

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

