The Promise of an Acorn

046 049

Little acorn seed,

Full of potential life force,

Take root and grow tall.

* * * * * *

On one of my daily walks, as I was coming along our little gravelly country road leading up to the house, I couldn’t help but notice something yellowy-green in a “sea” of limestone grey.

I was enthralled.  An acorn without its signature cap (“cupule”) on top.  Had a squirrel found it and been on route to hiding it in one of its caches of food storage…and lost it? Otherwise, why such a distance from any nearby oak tree?

I had a closer look at the acorn and then picked it up.  As I gazed upon it, I was reminded of a more well-known part of William Blake’s poem “Auguries of Innocence:”

“To see a World in a Grain of Sand

And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,

Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand

And Eternity in an Hour.”

I have to confess that although I am quite fond of poetry, and poetry from classic writers, I actually learned about this four-line segment via the first Tomb Raider movie in which Lara Croft finds one of her clues in those wise words.

Ever since then I have loved how Blake expressed those thoughts, and so as I gazed upon that acorn, I thought about “holding infinity in my palm”…even if it means holding something that given the right conditions of air, soil, and water holds the promise of growing into a stately oak that can reach a long age and witness much over its lifetime.  Life is a continuous process, so in that sense, endless.  Infinite.

I decided this limestone gravel road wasn’t much of a conducive home for this sturdy acorn and brought it in with me.  In the next day or so, I will go for a walk in the nearby little woods and see if I can find a life-giving spot for it.  Or perhaps try assisting the acorn into a seedling stage, as I discovered through a bit of research online.

________

Check out this cool-looking time-lapse video of an acorn seed’s early development – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZK4LjURtaDw


					
One thought on “The Promise of an Acorn

Leave a Reply

