Wild Daylily

205

Blooming in July,

Transplanted from the roadside;

Familiar orange.

********************

Note:  For years I had admired these orange daylilies growing wild in large patches along roadsides of farms and houses in the country, as well as beside small woods.  I had looked for them at nurseries but not found them.  Finally, a few years ago, I found a tiny clump along a roadside, nowhere near any home and decided to transplant it to a spot in my garden near the front of the house where I would get to see it more often.  Not only was the transplant successful, but over time this plant has flourished and grown into a good-sized patch, offering up a splendid show of orange daylily flowers every summertime for me to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

