On My Daily Walk….Yesterday

039 044

Yes, it’s become my daily walk and not necessarily always at the same time.  It can be mornings or early evenings (like in these photos I took from yesterday’s walk).  I started this new form of exercise in the first week of June and I plan on keeping it going, because it no longer feels like an exercise that I need to do as my goal….but more of a fun new activity that I look forward to and don’t want to miss doing and now can’t imagine NOT doing – hahaha!

Primarily, I walk along two country roads, the bigger one being paved.  There are uphill and downhill parts on both of them, so that adds a bit of “extra work” as well.

I was loving the sunshine on my face and arms as I walked along at my usual good, comfortable, steady pace.  And as I was facing homeward bound again, that’s when I paid more attention to the clouds in the sky and really noticed that darker cloud.  I liked that “heavier” looking cloud that still somehow seems to be so light in the sky.  And I liked how the rows in the field showed up distinctly.  So, I stopped and took a few pictures.  Interesting isn’t it, when you look just a smidge to the right, which is the next picture in sequence…and even though the dark cloud is still in the sky to the left (outside of the frame), you wouldn’t know or think it was there just looking at the second picture.  All the clouds are white, and the sky is blue.

064

This third picture I took going closer to the edge of the left side of the road, mostly because I love the sight of these grasses with the lighter beige tufts that always invite me to fan my hand over their softness…..as well as run my hands through the soft ferny ground cover right at the edge of the sandy shoulder, running along the right edge of those taller grasses.  Adds some tactile exploration….and fun!

From time to time occasional birds – red-winged blackbirds and sparrows and bobolinks and mourning doves, among others – briefly perch along the hydro lines, and we check each other out.

Interestingly, every walk is never quite the same….different clouds, occasional rain sprinkles or little “showers,” total cloudiness, breezes or barely breezy, and the haying in certain fields, and the slowly growing taller of the corn crops in other fields.

Sure is peaceful and calm.

2 thoughts on “On My Daily Walk….Yesterday

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. What a lovely place to take your daily walks. I feel like it can serve more than just the purpose of exercise but maybe even a time and place for you to think and reflect. It’s great to see that people like you can feel the nature around us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, John, for your insightful thoughts. 🙂 Yes, I’m finding that it’s taking me to a new experience, and new way to interact with nature. What started as an exercise idea….turned into a joyful activity. And now i am finding more and more that nature is revealing her other beauties and treasures for me. As you say, a good time to think and embrace what is all around me. And to observe the lesson of nature doing everything in good time…..in her time. The growth of plants goes along in the wisdom of the plants and nature….slowly and steadily. The rain comes and nourishes, and the sun shines, and the plants do their part and emanate their “joy” of being part of it all. And then all those lovely facets help to draw me in and share some of that experience. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

