Mama Plus Two

018 (2)

Around 9 a.m. on Friday morning I was given a most remarkable present!

It was one of those occasional sleeping-in days, and so I was headed for the bathroom upon waking up.  I happened to glance out of the window, which faces into our backyard and saw a flash of light brown.  Some kind of smallish animal?  At first it looked like it was hip-hopping through the grass, so I thought, “ooohhh, a rabbit!”  Then I looked more closely and soon realized the mischievous and rambunctious little one was actually…..a young fawn!

And as fawn #1 kept busy with running and jumping about, then fawn #2 showed up and joined in the fun.  So, two of them were dashing about, running here and there…leaping and prancing.  Full of joyful being!   It wasn’t long before I got to see mama deer show up.  I kept as quiet as I could so as not to make a sound, as I kept peeking out the window for the best view.  I didn’t want to inadvertently alert the mother and disturb the family in their play time.

I managed to get a couple of photos of them, and one of my friends said to me (later on) that it looked as if mama decided to pose with her little ones especially for me….and how lucky I was to be able to see this.  I truly felt lucky!

I have seen deer before, often by the roadsides, either when avoiding collisions with them or even just to watch them moving about in the meadows and fields.  However, this was the first time ever for me to see a mama and her young in such a fairly close up and visible way. And in this instance, It seemed to me like one mama was sharing the joy of her kids with another mama who’s been there, too. I felt such joy for her.  One of those thrilling, happy moments.  And I couldn’t have asked for a better present!

4 thoughts on “Mama Plus Two

I would love to hear your thoughts about this

