The Always Irresistible Cat Traps

001009

In an earlier post – a haiku poem – I added in a picture of our cat’s eyes peeking from inside an empty beer case.  In these photos you get to see a bit more of our Hemingway.  She isn’t always tucked inside boxes, but she DOES have a weakness for them….or maybe it’s a penchant?  Just about any box will do as a cat trap, because they are just too darn irresistible!

She claimed that red shoe box for her own cuddle spot, as soon as she laid eyes on it.  And she planted herself into it and curled up all sorts of wonderful ways for some time, before it finally broke at the cardboard seams.  The other one was a short-lived cereal box adventure – one of those quick love-it-and-leave-it kind of adventure.  Now, the other day – for which I have no photo because it happened so fast – when I playfully tossed her favourite ping-pong ball into a slightly-larger-than-cat-size, see-through plastic bin standing on the floor in the hall, she charged in her usual chase-that-ping-pong-ball fashion and with full momentum dove head first into that plastic bin!  When I peeked over to see if she was all right, her head popped up and looked at me with that self-assured, I-have-everything-under-control feline look.  I smiled.  And well, I also mentally gave her a “10” for that smoothly executed acrobatic somersault display!

7 thoughts on “The Always Irresistible Cat Traps

  1. I love cats! So many stories can be written about them. Did you know that the vibrations of their purring helps mend broken bones? One day I will have another purr ball sitting on my lap! Love your story!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahaha! Okay, Zosh, our list just keeps growing! And really not surprised – in one way – that you have a big heart for cats (I had a hunch you would 🙂 ). Yes, they provide endless stories for the telling! Vaguely that purring bit sounds familiar…. 😉 but it’s good to be reminded of it. Thank you for that tidbit. Well, our animal friends do have healing qualities….in some ways like various plants do. I’m glad you enjoyed the story, too. And I hope you will have a purr ball again. Love that….purr ball…instead of furr ball. New to me! 🙂

      Like

    1. It seems so many cats share that love of boxes and bags…..haha! Tonight when I was visiting a friend, her cat decided that my bag (in which I carried my writing supplies) needed exploring! 🙂 And thank you, Sue, for your compliment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

