The Anybody Can Do It Cake

047052

It’s baked in a bundt cake form and, with that traditional German touch, it gets a light dusting of powdered sugar once it has cooled down..

Years ago, when I was a teenager, my mom came home from work one day feeling all excited. She had been given a new recipe to try.  My mom has always been a good cook and baker, and because she enjoyed making good meals, she was also open to learning new things and trying out new ingredients.

“So what kind of cake is it?” I asked her.

“Well, I don’t know exactly,” she replied.  “It’s a regular kind of cake batter with butter and eggs and flour and such, and in my recipe here it lists cherries to be added as the last item.  But….then at the bottom there are other options, for example with chopped apples and nuts.”

“What’s it called then?”

With great gusto she smiled and declared, “The Anybody Can Do It Cake!”

The recipe is straightforward with ingredients and the  prep process, so I guess that’s why the title.

I have made it a few times over the years….usually with a jar of pitted cherries mixed in, for a bit of a treat from apple crisps and rhubarb coffee cakes, and it tastes just as tasty with chopped apples and chopped almonds as a different combination.  With my crew it gets eaten up within the day!  Haha!   I’m wondering just now what it would taste like with fresh peaches, as I’ve never tried that.  Hmm!  A new twist to an old favourite.

9 thoughts on “The Anybody Can Do It Cake

    1. You betcha! Lead on and show me your photos, Laura! Is it a different set-up for a photo blog? Just wondering if I should keep my photos separate that way as well?

      Like

      1. I think it would be a lot of work to have two blogs. I am just going to have the photo blog. Your gravitar doesn’t link to your blog.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s weird. I went through the steps to get my gravatar going, but somewhere along the way it just stopped dead. So, I don’t know what happened there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

